First photos of Scrumpy’s piglets

As promised, here are the first photos of Scrumpy’s piglets, taken last night by Andy. Not long after these shots were taken, I put some hay down for them so they had a nice warm bed. They also had a visitor in the night… Their half-brother (same sire, not dam), Harold, had been Scrumpy’s companion but once she farrowed, I put him in with Bailey and Brini so he didn’t accidentally squash the piglets – or so Scrumpy didn’t beat the hell out of him for being there. So imagine my surprise this morning when B announced that she couldn’t put Scrumpy’s feed down as Harold was trying to eat it! At some point in the night he broke through two electric fences to get back to his beloved Scrumpy. B said that when she popped her head through the ark to get Scrumpy, the sow was asleep on one side of the piglets and Harold was curled up on the other side. So much for me worrying about them – they must have been as warm as toast with both pigs supplying their body heat! (New-born piglets can’t create their own body heat. Well, they can, but they use up all their energy doing so and consequently run the risk of getting ill.)

Anyway, enough pig-facts, here’s the cuteness. Get ready!

Scrumpy and her piglets - 10 September 2008

Scrumpy and her piglets - 10 September 2008

Scrumpy and her piglets - 10 September 2008

Scrumpy and her piglets - 10 September 2008

Of the five, two are cream, two are black and white and one is chocolate and cream. A quick inspection this morning makes us think that one of the cream piglets is a boy, as is the chocolate and cream, and that all the rest are girls. We think!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by welshpurpletree on 11 September 2008 at 1:46 pm

    They’ve definitely got the ‘aaah’ factor.

    Thanks for the advice on chickens, I have looked at battery hens and how you go about re-homing them, I looked at the Battery Hen Welfare Trust website. I wanted to try with just 2 or 3, as I haven’t got an enormous garden, I quite liked the idea of letting them wander the garden when I’m home, but I’m not sure how chicken proof it is or if they’ll just destroy it.

    Think I’ll speak to Fred and arrange to go see his setup, I’m presuming as their on his allotment then he’s got fairly limited space too.

    Those Eglu houses are lovely, I thought the plastic is probably a good idea for cleaning too.

  2. Mine are due to arrive in about a fortnight so I’ll let you know how they work out!

  3. Posted by beks on 11 September 2008 at 3:37 pm

    eeee! oooooh! the spotty one is my favourite! eeeeee!!

  4. Cream boy seems to be the most hyperactive and I just caught one of the black and white girls climbing over mum’s back when she was lying down, instead of going round. I think this lot will be trouble when they get a little older!!!!

  5. […] probably re-introduce Fergie to Tia and hope that mother and daughter get along as well as Scrumpy and Harold did when she […]

Comments are closed.

