Google Chrome

After wongablog’s reassurances, I’ve been trying to get Google Chrome up and running but have failed miserably. At first, I couldn’t install it on my account so I logged out, logged back in as the administrator and installed Chrome without any problems.

Yay, thought me.

So I logged out, logged back into my account and … couldn’t find Chrome anywhere.

After a bit of fiddling with the firewall, I finally managed to download it into my account but have thus far failed to get Chrome to connect to the internet. As you can tell from this post, Firefox works without any problems and a quick (and reluctant) test with Internet Explorer proves that my connection is a-ok.

I’ve been through the Chrome help pages and found them to be as useful as a wet paper towel in a flood, and as easy to navigate as an upside down map of the wrong city.

FirefoxSo until this bug gets sorted, I’m sticking with Firefox which has never let me down, even if each add-on slows it down. And if the whole thing crashes coz of one lousy tab. Come on, FF, you can do it!

5 responses to this post.

  1. i keep learning about more and more little advantages and features with Chrome, with privacy, for example; now if only they would take care of it’s cookie management glitches…

  2. I had the same problem with it disappearing after an Admin install. Did you run the install again from the standard user account? That fixed it for me. Either that or your firewall could be preventing it connecting – are you using the built-in Windows firewall?

  3. Yup, finally got it going through my account, but I can’t figure out where it’s being blocked. I’ve got Windows Firewall and AVG (free).

  4. Hmmm, weird. Does this help?

  5. Waaah! Tried it, nothing. There must be something on my computer blocking it but I cannot figure out what.

Comments are closed.

