Daddy Pig!!!

I keep getting asked if Bailey is the sire of Tia and Scrumpy’s piglets. But no, another piggie got their first! Before I got Bailey, the girls were after a boyfriend and when we found out someone we worked with also kept Kune Kunes, she kindly lent us her boar, Bob:

Bob - 19 April 2008

Bob - 19 April 2008

Bob is just about smaller than Tia and a fair amount smaller than Scrumpy and, like them, has the most wonderful temperament, so I’m expecting great things from my piglets! Actually, it’s already clear that they’re a friendly bunch who (generally) come running when they see a pair of wellies walking their way. No, I don’t know why they’re so obsessed with wellies either. But they are.

Bob and Tia - 22 April 2008

Bob and Tia - 22 April 2008

The real quirk about Bob’s character was that he loved a good itch and he almost died with pleasure if you spent a few moments scratching his back. I mention this because two of Tia’s piglets, Itchy and Scratchy, clearly take after their papa…

Scrumpy and Bob - 17 May 2008

Scrumpy and Bob - 17 May 2008

So that’s Bob. Thanks mate, you did a good job! Oh, Bob is also the papa of a certain young Harold, who has been remarkably well-behaved since I turned the electric fence back on. Hmm, I wonder what he’s plotting…

