Freecycle

I’ve recently discovered and therefore become a huge of Freecycle, a global network of small community groups who would rather give something away than throw it away – sticking to the old adage that one person’s junk is another person’s treasure. The only real rule about Freecycle is that everything must be free – you cannot charge for anything post onto the email list.

Freecycle

In the past couple of days, I’ve been the grateful recipient of a (free!) water butt and a (free!) solid wood bookcase. I’m hopefully picking up a “pyramid cat bed” tonight.

My only real criticism of the concept is that it’s all done using the internet and email lists, so the people who could really benefit from some a wealth of freebies are those who quite possible don’t have internet access.

But … it’s still an excellent concept and I’m fully intending to make good use of it!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by welshpurpletree on 20 September 2008 at 8:53 pm

    I love Freecycle too, I’ve given away loads of stuff, and got lots of advice. It’s amazing what some people give away and what others ask for.

Comments are closed.

