Thinking about veggies to grow

Tasting some of John’s home-grown veggies last night (plus the divine soup he made using them), combined with a rather in-depth planning / dreaming / chatting session with Jennie earlier today has made me start thinking quite seriously about my non-existent vegetable garden. Specifically, where it will go and what I will grow. Jennie’s talked me into a fruit cage (so long as she helps, makes jam and shares jam) but I really need to think about veggies.

I’ve done a fair amount of reading online and the one thing I’ve really learnt is that you should grow what you like to eat. It seems that’s the only thing that gets you through weeding.

So I’ve decided that my first task should be to draw up a list of the veggies things I like to eat. Here it is below, though you’ll note that it doesn’t include salady-type stuff that requires more than a hole in the ground to do anything other than rot. That’s another project. For now, I’m sticking to something that only involves me, a spade and some pig poo…

  • Artichokes
  • Beans
  • Broccoli
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Cabbage
  • Carrots
  • Cauliflower
  • Kale
  • Leek
  • Parsnips
  • Peas
  • Potatoes
  • Pumpkins
  • Spinach
  • Squash
  • Swede
  • Sweetcorn
  • Sweet potato
  • Turnip

I’m not convinced that this list is exhaustive and I’ve no doubt that any gaps will be filled but it’ll do for now. All that remains to do is sort them into their respective groups, decide when to plant them, prepare the ground, plant them, weed around them, feed them and then pick them and eat them. Sounds easy……………. not!

