Re-entering the political debate

I’ve been added to the Bloggers4Labour blogroll and I thought that to celebrate, I should write a post about politics. But what? The “he said, she said” of the party political silly season bores me to tears, I no longer care (correction, I never cared) if Cameron wears flip flops and Brown wears a suit and Clegg… The honest truth? I couldn’t tell you anything about Clegg other than the fact that he’s the Lib Dem leader. I know not what he looks like, or even one identifying feature, such as hair colour.

In other words, I’ve slipped out of the political field and if I’m honest, I’m happy with that. I know there are some great minds out there who really are the next generation. And I know that if they are in the right place at the right time, they will achieve many great things. And that comforts me.

But, for now, what do I think?

Well, I know one thing. I’m all for a leadership challenge. I didn’t want Brown to take over after Blair but had there been a proper contest, a real debate about our ideals and the direction we should be taking as a party and as a party of government, then people might feel differently. But Brown’s single biggest mistake (other than not challenging Blair way back in the 90s) was to sit back and accept a coronation. People that I would never have described as Brownites were backing him, so a leadership contest wouldn’t have been an issue. He would have walked it. But, as always, the powers that be backed away from such a debate and I think that’s one of the reasons that Brown’s in the shit today. To me, it feels like yet another “top down” party dictate and the end result is that while I want Labour to win the next election, I don’t think we will. Contrarily, however, I cannot sum up even on drop of motivation to get involved because I simply cannot defend Brown on the doorstep.

“What’s he done for people like me?” is what I think I’d get asked and I simply don’t know what the answer is. Most of us are feeling the pinch big time now, the sums don’t add up. The cost of living has shot through the roof but wages haven’t and people are getting into serious financial shit that they can’t handle. I’m not saying this is Brown’s fault, but all I know is that some people are facing some very scary times that they may not get through intact, and it’s not good out here. As far as I can tell, if you’re not earning £25k, you’re screwed. How can I justify that? “Imagine what it would be like under the Tories”, ain’t gonna cut it.

So there you go. An incoherent mumbling about politics and Brown. I don’t do either. I never did the latter.

I can feel a feel brewing about housing, but I’ll save that for another time.

