Piggie names

Quite a few people have asked me how (and why!) I came up with my pigs’ names and I’ve always thought that an explantion was probably due but it wasn’t until yesterday’s discovery that two of Stonehead’s piglets are called Snugglepot and Cuddlepie has finally prompted to put together the answer.

If you’ve been reading BmS for a while, you’ll know that my lot are:-

  • Bailey, the boar
  • Brini, Scrumpy and Tia, the sows
  • Harold, the weaner
  • Fergie, Cookie, Itchy, Scratchy, Pinky and Perky, Tia’s piglets; and
  • Curly, Wurly, Bubble and Squeak, Scrumpy’s piglets.

I used to own Victoria and Albert, but they’re in the freezer…

Albie and Vicky were so named because that’s what B suggested when we got them and the very thought made me chuckle. It seemed natural to maintain the theme for future freezer pigs. But I didn’t want to do the same for non-freezer piggies, so a different theme was required. The first sow I bought (who we have since sold), I called Stella, as in CSI, but when Scrumpy and Tia arrived a few weeks later, the CSI theme just wasn’t working. But Stella already knew her name, so there was only one thing for it…

Scrumpy’s name was found because she’s a bit Scrumpy-Dumpy and Tia was just a little shot! Bailey is (or was, until autumn crept up on us) cream-coloured and Brini got her name because when I bought her, I also bought her full sister, so Brini and Brusco seemed appropriate. But I sold Brusco to the same guy who bought Stella as they had palled up. Brini’s Brini now, but that’s where her name came from.

Harold was meant to be George but one of mum’s friends, also called George, had recently embarked on a diet and mum suggested that the name association might not be the most tactful thing I could do. Harold just popped into my head and stuck.

The piglets’ names are just descriptive and are chosen for nonsensical reasons, mostly just for a laugh. Itchy and Scratchy never stop itching and scratching, Pinky and Perky are pink and lively, Cookie is the colour of chocolate and cream (and she’s also turned out to be incredibly fat, so it’s an apt name!) and Fergie’s ginger… (No, Fergie’s not for the freezer. They’re divorced, therefore it no longer counts.) Curly has an extremely curly tail and his sister is the same colour, and the first time B held Squeak, she squeaked and Bubble just seemed to match.

Of course, the freezer-name thing has promptly ended, because Albert, Victoria and Harold were all brought in, but now I’m breeding my own and having struggled to come up with suitable names, I’m not changing them again. But it was fun while it lasted.

