Always take the weather with you

Ok, so the weather’s a mighty dull topic of bloggage but bear with me – thanks to the piggies and chickens, I spend a great proportion of my day outdoors, so getting it right weather-wise is quite a priority.

But I’m mighty confused.

iGoogle tells me that over the next few days, I can expect it to be cloudy but not that wet:

Weather forecast from iGoogle on 1 Otober 2008

Weather forecast from iGoogle on 1 Otober 2008

But Auntie tells me the opposite:

Weather forecast from the BBC on 1 October 2008

Weather forecast from the BBC on 1 October 2008

I do believe that when I go to the farm in about an hour, I shall take enough clothing to cover all possibilities. This will include:

  • My fleece jacket, which is nice and warm but obviously useless if any overhanging clouds explode
  • My light jacket, in case the clouds do explode
  • My winter waterproof, which I hate wearing at this time of year because it’s far too warm for autumn but my light jacket really won’t be much help if the exploding cloud is joined by some friends
  • My waterproof trousers, because I’d rather not spend the day in soaking wet jeans
  • My (ok, B’s) waterproof hat, for obvious reasons. Can be worn in any weather conditions. Especially useful for painting ceilings and cutting brambles. Though if you’re doing this at the same time, I’m worried.

Oh, and while I’m on this rather dull (but apparently very British) subject, here’s a quick peak at the beta version of the BBC’s new weather site:

Weather forceast from the BBC (beta) on 1 October 2008

Weather forceast from the BBC (beta) on 1 October 2008

Oh, and thanks to the rain we’ve had this week, wellies are a must no matter what. But that’s ok, coz they’re really sexy. Honest. Especially when worn with my waterproof trousers…

