Hentastic new houses

I put the chickens in their new houses the day before yesterday (bantams in the Eglu, larger chooks in the Cube) and this morning I let them out for the first time. You should have seen them rush about, flapping their wings and enjoying some real space. I’ve hated keeping them in but it’s the best way to ensure they know where to sleep and feel comfortable in their new homes. Sorry girls, but that’s it, I promise! From now on, you get to come out every morning as soon as I arrive.

Leaving the Cube for the first time in two days - 9 October 2008

Leaving the Cube for the first time in two days - 9 October 2008

Been out, explored, pecked at the grass, now want our food. So turn that camera off... 9 October 2008

Been out, explored, pecked at the grass, now want our food. So turn that camera off... 9 October 2008

Jo and the lavender bantam cockerel - 9 October 2008

Jo and the lavender bantam cockerel - 9 October 2008

I am going too do a proper review of the Eglu and Cube, including the problems I’ve had but why I’ve been won over, but right now, I need to feed the piggies and then try to persuade the chooks to go back indoors before I go home. I have a feeling that this mission is doomed to failure…

Update: Pleased to report that getting the chickens in was in fact really easy. All it took was a jug of corn for each flock / brood / peep / whatever-the-hell-the-collective noun-is, plus some tasty cucumber as an incentive. From now on, they’ll on get corn and their fruity treats when I put them back in their omlet enclosures 🙂

On another note, I’ve finally come up with a name for the lavender pekin cockerel. The way he sits on my shoulder can only lead to one name … Cap’n Flint!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I have named one of the Silver Dorking Cockerels, Long John Silver, because he stands on one leg a lot!

Comments are closed.

