Cookie update

Poor Cookie really wasn’t getting any better yesterday and threw up twice, once in the morning and then again in the afternoon. At that the point, I picked up he phone and called the vet. And so, for the second time in three days, I found myself sitting in a busy waiting room with a piglet in a cage, worrying about whether she’d be ok, but also laughing at the big tough dogs (or so they thought) who took one look at Cookie and turned into quivering heaps.

The vet isn’t sure what’s wrong with the Cookster, but thinks it’s probably an infection of some kind. She had a bit of a temperature, nothing too high, but no specific symptoms that would suggest anything major. Which is a relief. So she gave her two shots, and I’ve got to inject her with antibiotics for the next three nights.

And it seems to be working. She actually got herself up this morning and came and sniffed at the pig nuts. She didn’t want any, but she was interested. And she wasn’t sick. A few hours later, I saw her suckling, and then she definitely had a go at lunch and snuffled several pieces of apple and kiwi fruit and other assorted goodies. She didn’t have much, but it’s the first time I’d seen her eat since Saturday night so it is real progress.

Cookie - 9 October 2008

Cookie - 9 October 2008

I’m not getting too excited just yet, but it seems to be good news.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Bless her. I think she definitely needs you to make her some fruit cake!

  2. Lol, she can keep on waiting then! Though you might actually be right, had to inject her this evening and ended up having to stick the needle in her several times before I was able to push the plunger down. She now resembles a throbbing pin cushion and no longer likes me! Poor Cookie, only another two to go…

Comments are closed.

