The first frost!

I thought it was a bit nippy when I got up this morning but I didn’t really think about it until I got to the farm and realised that we’ve had our first frost.

The chickens were not impressed but the pigs were nice and toasty in their arks. Bubble was a bit shivery when she was eating her breakfast so I’ll top up the bedding in their ark, but I can stop worrying about them now.

Grumpy chickens -17 October 2008

Grumpy chickens -17 October 2008

Snipe -17 October 2008

Snipe -17 October 2008

Actually, the crisp* grass underneath my feet made me realise how much I hope it will be a cold, frosty winter. The pig field is prone to getting very very muddy in heavy rain and I’m not sure how much solid ground will be left if the winter is like the “summer” we endured. If it’s cold and frozen, we’ll be cold but not swimming in mud. I can give the pigs lots of extra bedding if it’s cold, but I can’t do much for them if it’s wet.

So here’s hoping!

* not a hard frost so soggy grass once I lifted my foot up

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by welshpurpletree on 17 October 2008 at 1:40 pm

    I’m quite jealous, no sign of frost here. I’m definitely hoping for a cold, frosty winter rather than a soggy, wet one, much nicer for the walk to school.

  2. Wow that is early, it’s still really warm over here in East Anglia. I can’t wait till we need to put the fire and candles on 🙂

  3. The days have been gorgeous but that lack of cloud cover at night has done it. Have you got an open fire? Mmmmmmmmmmmmm 😀

Comments are closed.

