Compulsory sex and relationship education

Hurrah! The news that the government is expected to roll out compulsory sex and relationship education in primary and secondary schools is bloody brilliant – and a long time overdue.

Obviously, it’s extremely important that teenagers are “in the know” when it comes to sex, relationships, contraception, STIs and so on, but personally, I’m in favour of sex and relationships ed from the moment a child enters the education system.

I’ve seen friends teaching their kids about sex from a very early age and it’s not embarrassing nor does it “promote promiscuity”. It simply begins to inform children when they’re too young to be embarrassed so that by the time their hormones kick in, they’ll have the basic facts. Is it me, or is that the single most important thing we can do for our children? To ensure that they’re prepared to live in this world and with other people!

Incidentally, your kids are never too young to learn about gay relationships as well. Jennie’s two kids, Handsome and Cheeky, are more than used to the idea and it doesn’t seem to cause them any problems. There are the obvious views that are ingrained in most of us (society’s “norms”) but the boys are more than happy to put those to one side. An amusing consequence of Jennie and NDT* fantastic approach to parenting was Handsome’s comment when B and I went round for dinner the other night. I picked up one of the Christmas catalogues and told B I was going to get her a pink doll’s house with her name printed on the roof. Before B could retort, Handsome piped up. “But Auntie Jo, you don’t like girly things. Apart from girlfriends, I mean.”

Classic!

* NDT = Jennie’s husband who is Not David Tennant

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by welshpurpletree on 23 October 2008 at 4:28 pm

    I read that news article earlier too, and found it quite interesting, once I got past the heading of ‘Sex Education For 5 Year Olds’, which makes you think they’re going to give them all the gory details at that age, but reading on found it’s all going to be age appropriate (of course) and at that stage they are probably going to focus more on health and relationships. Think my approach will be to talk about things as they come up, like if he hears about something or sees something on telly, and try and treat it all as normal as possible.

  2. I think that’s about the best way to do it! Mind you, I always thought that parents of boys and girls probably have it easier because the kids would notice the biological differences a lot sooner!

    Of course, if anyone wants to bring their kids up to the farm, Bailey and Brini are usually happy to oblige. And they’re not shy, either!!!!!!!!!

  3. […] 24, 2008 · No Comments Today I had a treat. My husband (who I won’t refer to as NDT, Jo!) took a half day holiday from work today and took me out for lunch. We went to La Tasca and […]

Comments are closed.

