Quad bikes

When I was 11, I crashed a quad bike into the side of a very solid shed and, looking back, was bloody lucky to escape with nothing more serious than a broken wrist.

Mum’s had a quad bike for years but because of the accident, I refused to learn to drive it, and it was only last year that I learnt and discovered what everyone else knows: quad biking is great fun. But it is also very very dangerous and I still can’t believe that they’re sold to individuals for entertainment purposes. I’m sorry, but unless you can demonstrate that you need one for working a farm or for a quad biking centre, you shouldn’t be bale to buy one. And “kiddie quads” should be banned altogether.

And while I’m on the subject of farm vehicles, I feel the same about 4x4s. Unless you can demonstrate a genuine need for one, you shouldn’t be able to get one. Now that would contribute to lowering emissions in the UK! Alternatively, there should be two bands of car tax for 4x4s. If your vehicle has mud on it, you should be entitled to a lower tax than the pristine “city” models!!!!!

2 responses to this post.

  1. What about those who have their 4x4s sprayed with mud to convince their city neighbours that they have spent the weekend at “their place in the country”?
    As for road tax, I would quadruple road tax for any private vehicle over two litres engine capacity – people who want bigger engines than that have got an ego problem, and also more money than sense, so the obvious solution is to take more money from them!

  2. I’d be inclined to agree if it was 2.6 or above but I’ve got a 1.9 and the pulling power up the hills of west Wales wasn’t something I’d like to reply on whilst towing a heavy load.

    As genuine / faked 4×4 mud, there’s an easy way to check – take a peep under the chassis. That’s where the truth resides!!

Comments are closed.

