Winter is coming

Well, I keep saying I hope it will be a cold winter, not a wet one and – for now at least – my wish seems to be coming true. I know we’re not getting the same weather as much of the country, but it was a cold start this morning, with ice covering windscreens (not mine! I have found the perfect frost-free place to park!) and generally making the morning a bit brrr-chilly.

This was how things looked at the farm this morning:

Frost - 29 October 2008

Frost - 29 October 2008

This is why:

Thick ice on Bailey and Brini's water bucket - 29 October 2008

Thick ice on Bailey and Brini's water bucket - 29 October 2008

But things soon warmed up in the sun and I was able to take my welly off for a bit of mutual itch-relief with Scratchy:

Ah, that's better! - 29 October 2008

Ah, that's better! - 29 October 2008

