Facebook for networking at work? Or will it get you the sack?

On the one hand, there’s this story from a couple of days ago: Bosses ‘should embrace Facebook’. Then there’s yesterday’s news that: Crew sacked over Facebook posts.

The last time I worked for my current employers, they had us all sign something stating that we wouldn’t blog about or refer to the company in the media, i.e. that we’d leave the “press work” to the press department in Head Office and just get on with our jobs in the stores. This time around, I’ve decided to not mention who my employers are, just to be on the safe side, but I’ve seen loads of people do the same as the Virgin Atlantic crew and I do wonder for the security of their jobs, especially now with many big companies pondering the reality of cutting down on their staffing levels.

I think the first article about using Facebook or similar technology to network with work colleagues is an excellent plan, and even in my retail store, I can see exactly how it would work. But, sadly, I think the Virgin story is the reality of the situation, so I’ll keep on playing it safe!

2 responses to this post.

  1. There’s nothing been said within the company I work for about Facebook, other than our not being able to access it at work, but I choose not to mention who I work for as, if I get stressed about work I might get into trouble, and as I’m only there one day a week I’d rather not think about it too much the rest of the time!

    Just off to buy the lottery ticket now, then I think I’ll compose a blog post about the dream farm!

  2. Fingers crossed! Just don’t let your boys choose the numbers this week!!!!!

Comments are closed.

