Cheeky b^st^ards!

Following on from yesterday’s ramble re: the price of dog food, I just noticed that Snipe’s dog biscuits only lasted 6 days instead of having a little bit left over after a week.

It turns out that Stonehead was right – supermarkets are tricky and sneaky and you need to be on the alert at all times as they can and do use all sort of dirty tactics to squeeze every last penny from you without you even noticing.

I’ve been feeding Snipe ASDA’s SmartPrice complete biscuits. When I moved down here in August, they were 97p for a 2.5kg bag. Then the price dropped to 95p and I thought it was a real bargain, especially with everything else going up in price.

But I just checked the packaging and the reason it went down in price last month is because it somehow lost half a kilo. It’s now 95p for a 2kg bag!

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

On the plus side (there isn’t one, I’m just trying to write a post that has a bit of the upside in it as well as the down, so I mean the plus side of life, not ASDA) Midge has just eaten half a cup of the SmartPrice biscuits mixed in with half a cup of her Webbox ones so it looks as though I can get away with reducing the cost of feeding her 🙂 If I’ve got to get two bags of the SP biscuits every week, I might as well put them to good use.

Oh, and the cheap tins include a lot of gravy to bring the weight of the meat up so it’s a bit of a rip off but one that I can live with. If anyone ever sees dog tins (400g) priced individually for 24p or less or a 6 pack for ÂŁ1.44 or less, let me know!

Just remember – be on your toes when you’re in the supermarket as they really are sneaky!

3 responses to this post.

  1. The closest I’ve gotten is 300g for 39p. Let me know if you find any it seems to be getting more expensive by the day to feed Betty.

  2. The supermarkets are cunning. The price of your dog food went up by 22.4%, but they disguised it by changing the weight of the contents and putting a lower price on it.

    And the supermarkets win at both ends—they demand (and get) goods for less than the cost of production, demand (and get) money from their suppliers for marketing etc, and demand (and get) extremely onerous contractual obligations from their suppliers (if something doesn’t sell, the producer pays; if something is reduced in price for a sale, the producer pays, and so on).

    But as I was told recently, that’s economics and the free market at work, and that’s the price we pay for having more choice at a lower price. I won’t say what I said!

    Thanks for the reference and link.

  3. The day I win the lottery is the day I say goodbye to supermarkets forever. Alas, as that’s most unlikely, I shall just rejoice in the fact that the price of said dog food has fallen by another 3p, making it 92p. And Midge’s has yet to go up in price, so I grabbed her another bag today, just in case. Maybe I should just put a pig in the freezer, thereby feeding the dogs whilst not having to pay to feed the pig!

Comments are closed.

