Look who hatched!

Remember our broody Silkie hen?

I went to top up her food and water yesterday and heard a very distinctive peeping sound…

Chick!!!!!  21 November 2008

Chick!!!!! 21 November 2008

All was well when I checked hen and chick this morning – better than well, in fact, because Chick #1 was accompanied in the peeping harmony by Chick #2!!

Photos of them both to follow soon!

Isn’t it weeny!!!!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cathy on 22 November 2008 at 4:09 pm

    I remember the day the chicks hatched out under our duck. I love the sound of newly hatched chicks! Congratulations!

  2. Posted by welshpurpletree on 22 November 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Aww, so cute. Will they be ok in the cold weather? Jennie said another one has gone broody.

  3. Cheers Cathy, I wasn’t expecting this lot and was merely enjoying this summer’s now that they’re growing up so this is an added bonus for a dreary November!

    WPT, I hope they’ll be ok. The other silkie is nesting in the eglu and I can’t decide if I can put both of them plus chicks in there as it’ll be warmer than the ark the 1st silkie is in.

    But they seem ok for now and the box was lovely and warm when I topped up the straw this afternoon 🙂

  4. Posted by welshpurpletree on 22 November 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Have you still got the roosting bars in the Eglu? If you took them out and put straw in would they all get on ok then?

  5. Yeah, they’ll be coming out if the 2nd Silkie manages to hatches anything. If I don’t put them together then the one with the most chicks will get the eglu as it and the run are bigger.

    The bantams are a bit put out as they have to live in the cube with the big chickens – who are equally unimpressed!

Comments are closed.

