Irene’s egg!

I have finally managed to establish which eggs are laid by Irene, our Light Sussex x Dorking:

Irene and her egg - 9 December 2008

Irene and her egg - 9 December 2008

I actually managed to catch her coming out of the Cube, cackling away to herself quite happily, so opened the egg port (that’s nest box door to those of you who don’t speak Omlet) and saw one, very warm egg sitting in the straw!

Hurrah for chickens and their eggs!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Lovely egg!
    I get a deal of satisfaction from catching them at it and finding out who lays what…..

    I need to get out more I think….

  2. Posted by welshpurpletree on 12 December 2008 at 10:12 am

    Hurrah! Isn’t it amazing how hot eggs are when they’ve just been laid? I’d never thought about it before, but as my mum pointed out, if you’d just come out of a chicken’s bum you’d be hot too.

  3. She’s the only one I know for certain and I took the photo so I’ll have something to refer back to as I always forget!

    And I’ve just realised something – I saw the egg but felt its heat… oops!

Comments are closed.

