Watching the sun come up

One of the things I love about winter is the spectacular colour of sunrises and sunsets. I’m sure there’s a scientific reason why the reds and oranges that mark the sun’s movements are so vivid at this time of year but I don’t know what it is. What I do know is that it makes being outside on a very cold day worthwhile.

Today (and the rest of the weekend) looks as though it’s gonna be truly miserable so I thought I’d share this photo from yesterday’s sunrise to cheer us all up!

Sunrise at the farm - 10 December 2008

Sunrise at the farm - 10 December 2008

Oh – and what’s the betting it’s cloudy and gloomy at the solstice, thereby removing all opportunities for good photos to celebrate the passing of the shortest day and welcoming the prospect of longer ones!?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by suzy2110 on 12 December 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Wow, what a lovely pic- it was lovely here this morning, the moon looked HUGE and yellow! Of course, now there’s torrential rain… 😀

  2. A beautiful photo, I must set my alarm so I can see the sunrise. It is sometimes easier to snuggle back down under the covers but I’ll be up tomorrow.

  3. Cheers guys. I always find sunsets easier to capture as (funnily enough!) you get more light but I’m quite pleased with this one. Especially as it was taken using my phone!!

Comments are closed.

