The little things that aren’t worth blogging about on their own

  • I have moved the chickens to a new patch of grass. They’re not happy as they can’t hang out under the old apple tree any longer.
  • Some bastard has swapped all the frost for mud. This exchange sucks.
  • Tia and Scrumpy dug up an old saw in their enclosure. I’ve told them to find something very old and then all our money problems will be over!
  • The weaners have settled in well and I think mum’s enjoying having pigs back again.
  • Don’t say anything in case she finds out, but Midge is currently eating a bowl of Tesco Value dog biscuits instead of her usual branded ones. Is this the breakthrough I’ve been hoping for? Probably not…
  • There’s a few (non-Christmas) things that I’ve forgotten to buy but I don’t know if I can be bothered to brave the shops this side of Christmas. It’s bad enough that I work in one…
  • Having not watched a single second of the X Factor, I’m amazed at how good the winner’s voice is (no idea what her name is). I wish Terry Wogan and Aled Jones had done better though. Still, that’s one hell of a lot of money raised for Children in Need 🙂
  • Cookie and Squeak have settled in well and their new owners (and their kids) sound completely enchanted by the pair. Hurrah!
  • We have a Christmas tree!
Oh Christmas tree, oh Christmas tree...

Oh Christmas tree, oh Christmas tree...

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by suzy2110 on 22 December 2008 at 8:30 am

    I was pondering on the same thing about the frost/mud situation last night when trying to get my horses to come in- precious little darlings didn’t want to get their feet dirty, apparently…

    Your tree looks really pretty- hope the doggies will continue to eat their new biscuits. I honestly think half the time that it’s just packaging that’s different and the value stuff is probably the same as the more expensive stuff. With some notable exceptions!! 😀

  2. Lol I had a few ponies like that. Not the two greys though. They lurved the mud. Even with their New Zealands on, they still ended up plastered in the stuff!

  3. Posted by suzy2110 on 22 December 2008 at 1:36 pm

    I don’t know what it is about greys- every grey I ever knew loved nothing more than getting absolutely filthy! I always got on well with grey ponies though- some of my very favourite ponies ever have been grey. 🙂

  4. Pony Club rallies or show mornings with my Welsh Mountain (a grey) always went a bit like this:

    Wash the night before, shining white. Turn green overnight. Wash again, shining white. Arrive at event, unload pony, pony turned green in trailer…

  5. Posted by suzy2110 on 23 December 2008 at 12:15 pm

    I know! How do they do it?! My Connemara pony is golden dun and we did have the same problems to a lesser extent.

    Welsh Mountain ponies are one of my absolute favourites. My first canter was on one, and one of my favourite ponies ever was a section A. They have so much personility, but in a good way, not like those shitty little Shetlands which no self respecting parent should ever get for their kid- I never met one which wouldn’t take a chunk out of you as soon as look at you!!!

  6. Ah, but you never met my Shetland (bred in the Shetlands, no less!), Topsy. Mum got her as a 2 year old and she was nursemaid to many children including yours truly until she finally retired aged 26 and played nursemaid to my cob x before finally heading on up to that great big meadow in the sky aged 30-odd.

    She was only ever nasty on one occasion and that was entirely my fault. The trouble with Shetlands is that people spoil them as foals as they’re so damn cute – but they turn into monsters. Like any animal, if you treat em right, they turn put right.

    Sorry, bit of a rant there! It’s just that I think they get a raw deal because we ruin them and then blame the breed.

  7. Posted by suzy2110 on 24 December 2008 at 12:38 pm

    Point taken- I’m sure you’re right! 😀

Comments are closed.

