RSPB Birdwatch 2009

Earlier today, I took part in the RSPB Birdwatch and had a fantastic time doing so. As a kid, I found birds and birdwatching to be extremely dull so never learnt anything about even the most common of our British garden birds, let alone anything more exotic.

That is something I have come to regret so I decided to use Birdwatch as a springboard to learn more. John, who lives at the farm, is a keen ornithologist, so he spent the hour (and more!) teaching me the basics and by the end of the hour I was spotting quite a few on my own, including the elusive Dunnock.

I’m definitely hooked and intend to spend at least an hour a week trampling through the orchard, woods and field to see what’s going on. John has kindly said I can use his bird books and the binoculars, which will, of course, make things so much easier!

Anyway, we saw 19 species in total:

  • Blackbird x 5
  • Blue tit x 8
  • Buzzard x 1
  • Carrion crow x 2
  • Chaffinch x 2
  • Coal tit x 2
  • Dunnock x 5
  • Great tit x 10
  • House sparrow x 7
  • Jackdaw x 3
  • Long-tailed tit x 2
  • Magpie x 6
  • Redwing x 1
  • Robin x 6
  • Song thrush x 1
  • Starling x 1
  • Treecreeper x 1
  • Woodpigeon x 8
  • Wren x 3

If you want to take part, here’s how:

Taking part in the Big Garden Birdwatch is simple and fun.

All you need to do is watch your garden or local park for an hour on either Saturday 24 or Sunday 25 January 2009.

Simply record the highest number of each species seen in your garden (not flying over) at any one time.

So I need to count all the birds I see, right? Wrong. Some birds will return to your garden many times in the hour, so seeing the same blue tit come back 10 times does not make 10 blue tits.

Visit the RSPB website for more information.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by welshpurpletree on 24 January 2009 at 7:04 pm

    I’d like to know which birds are in my garden, think I need a pair of binoculars as my feeders are right at the back and I can’t see them properly. How are you meant to know if it’s the same blue tit that keeps returning or a different one?

  2. You make a note each time you see a blue tit and then at the end of the hour you enter the largest number of blue tits you saw together. So if you only ever see one blue tit at any time, you say you only saw one the whole time but if you saw two together, you say two.

Comments are closed.

