Baby, it’s cold outside

I may be alone in this, but I don’t want the winter of 2008/09 to be unusually cold. I’m kind of hoping that every winter is like this, because the field where I keep the pigs is what you could describe as “wet ground”, so low/freezing temperatures mean my pigs get to stand on solid earth rather than sinking into it!

January has been a drier month compared to previous years. The average rainfall was 100mm, just under last year’s figure of 130mm. Forecasters say February is expected to be fairly similar.

That report worries me. As far as I’m concerned, the rainfall we had in January bordered on too much and while I’m grateful that February is meant to be the same, I don’t want to imagine how wet things will get if we get a usual amount of rain.

Still, live for the moment and all that. On way to the farm today, I’m stopping off to get some more straw (forgot to pick up the tarpaulin last night so it will be another load of loose straw going all over the car to top up the last lot!) so the piggies stay nice and warm.

The only question is whether or not it will actually snow. Midge hates it, Snipe loves it and my guess it that the pigs will simply sleep through it…!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thegardensmallholder on 1 February 2009 at 12:37 pm

    It sure is cold, the sky here has the look of snow about it. Snow does not bother me so much, its the CONSTANT rain that drives me potty!

  2. Posted by thegardensmallholder on 1 February 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Me again…..it did snow!! Not much but I knew it was going to. I think it may snow again tonight.

  3. They’re predicting snow for us today and over the next few days – but they haven’t said how much! Three lonely flakes – or 3cm?!!!

    Is blomin’ cold outside, though. Have already put on a 3rd pair of socks, might get a 4th ready just in case!

Comments are closed.

