What an eggs-ellent result!

One of the things I wanted to do as a not-a-New-Year’s-resolution-but-the-same-kind-of-thing was to be more organised in my daily life, especially with regards to the animals, such as making note of when I buy feed, how much it costs, how many eggs are laid etc. Suzy suggested setting up a private blog and that’s what I did. One month in, and it has worked!

So I thought I would follow Compostwoman’s lead and blog about the number of eggs laid each month. I’m not running a hen laying league, mainly because I simply don’t know which egg has been laid by which hen as I never seem to be around when they pop them out!

Anyway, I have got 6 adult hens and two point of lay pullets. Five of the adults have been laying regularly all month, with just Buffy the Buff Orpington being the odd one out. she hasn’t really got back into the swing of things since she hatched her chicks back in July but has popped one out every so often.

In fact, her chicks (or at least the females!) are now point of lay pullets – and I think one of the POLs has in fact started laying! They are all in the Cube with the big hens and there were three eggs in the cube nest box yesterday afternoon. If they were laid by Buffy and Willow, the two Buff Orpingtons and Irene, the Light Sussex x Dorking, two would be similar and one would look a bit different. However, all three looked different. Irene’s was long and pale, one was a Buff egg (pale brown) and one was … dark brown with specks!

I could be wrong but I think the speckly egg was laid by the Buff Orpington x Warren who I call, coincidentally enough, Speckle as she has a lovely speckled necklace: a spattering of black in her neck feathers.

I cannot remember what the Warren eggs looked like but I think they were quite round and were a rich brown colour.

Hmm, I seem to have digressed somewhat.

So, the 6 adult hens (I won’t count the POLs as yesterday was the first time I saw such an egg) laid a grand total of 101 eggs in January! The big hens laid 50 and were just pipped by the Silkies and Dolly the Bantam who laid an impressed 51 eggs between them – especially as Mama Silkie is still looking after her three chicks!

Well done girls, I hope you all enjoyed your warm porridge this morning: you deserved it!

Mama Silkie and her trio, Silly Silkie, and Dolly Parton and John Wayne the Pekin Bantams

Mama Silkie and her trio, Silly Silkie, and Dolly Parton and John Wayne the Pekin Bantams

Speckle (Warren x Buff), Fat Boy, Dawn and Willow (Buff Orpingtons), Nemo (Leghorn x Buff Orpington) and Irene (Light Sussex x Dorking)... Where's Buffy the Buff?!

Speckle (Warren x Buff), Fat Boy, Dawn and Willow (Buff Orpingtons), Nemo (Leghorn x Buff Orpington) and Irene (Light Sussex x Dorking)... Where's Buffy the Buff?!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Yay! another egg – head! :-))

    Well done girls…I can’t wait for the Fab Four Dorking girls to lay an egg ( any day now!)

  2. I just love your blog, your animals are so lovely and look if they having a ball, my two cats refuse to go out side in the snow but my old boy Garak, aka dog loves it, take care fiona

  3. Thanks Fiona! Our cats, like the chickens, are not impressed with the snow and have spent their time inside going slowly bonkers with cabin fever. I think they want us to either emigrate or get an open fire!

Comments are closed.

