More fun in the snow!

Monday’s snow gave way to the “proper stuff” yesterday.

It was short-lived but wonderful while it lasted.

(Any chance we can just skip the thaw?!)

Midge used to hate the snow (being both wet AND cold) but her new t-shirt seems to have given her courage. Look at her go for it with Fab!

Midge used to hate the snow (being both wet AND cold) but her new t-shirt seems to have given her courage. Look at her go for it with Fab!

Kind soul that I am, I went out in this to do the chickens and feed the pigs

Kind soul that I am, I went out in this to do the chickens and feed the pigs

They stayed indoors for several hours after I opened the door until the sun came out!

They stayed indoors for several hours after I opened the door until the sun came out!

They look cosy!

They look cosy!

The Snowball Fight!

The Snowball Fight!

What a difference a few hours makes in the weather!

What a difference a few hours makes in the weather!

Sunset

Sunset

Words fail me, they really do. Daft dog!

Words fail me, they really do. Daft dog!

Snipe

Snipe

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thegardensmallholder on 4 February 2009 at 11:59 am

    Hee hee more dogs who love the white stuff AND sensible chickens! I thought mine were the only ones that were unimpressed with the recent weather!

  2. Judging from other blogs I read, I think it’s a general chicken thing! This morning they weren’t even waiting for me in the run but had to be coaxed out of the house 🙂

  3. Wow what great pictures – loved the cosy chickens and your dog is adorably mad!

  4. Rullsenberg, that’s about the nicest thing anyone has ever said about her!

  5. Posted by chick3000 on 28 March 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Aww,cute pictures. Just out of interest, how many proper sized chickens can you keep in the big eglu cube, coz im pondering buying one, but im not convinced about the size of it.

  6. Hi chick3000, thanks for visiting.

    The main thing about the Cube is not the size of the house but the size of the run.

    The most I’ve ever kept in the Cube has been one Buff Orpington cockerel, two Buff hens, three Buff x pullets, one Light Sussex x Dorking hen, two bantam cockerels, one Bantam hen and one Silkie hen: which works out as three large chickens, four regular sized and four small. The Bantams and Silkies weren’t meant to be in there, they decided there was more than enough room and moved in!

    In the house, there was room for a couple more hens but not in the run. Mine have permanent access to large run so the Cube’s own run doesn’t matter but if they were never or only rarely let out of the Cube, I’d only keep a few hens in there AND get the run extension to give them enough room to stretch their legs. In fact, I’d probably only keep bantams in there.

    Hope that helps 🙂

Comments are closed.

