Happy chickens!

In contrast to the dreadful weather that hit parts of the UK yesterday, for me, the day was all about blue skies and a incredible warmth from that shining disc in the sky (as Jennie put it in a text to me!). In fact, the day was so warm that I ditched several layers of clothing and for the first time in months, was able to walk around without a jacket, gloves, hat, scarf and my third pair of socks!

Faced with such a day, I had two choices: clean out and move the chickens or move the pigs and merely clean out the chicken houses. I should have move the pigs (well, Tia and Bailey) as they are rapidly getting to the stage where they need waterwings:

Tia in the mud - 10 February 2009

Tia in the mud - 10 February 2009

However, a closer inspection of the route between their current site and where I want them to go revealed that until we get a few days of sunshine and strong winds, with not even a hint of rain, to dry things out, that route is going to be impossible to navigate on my own, dragging a pig ark that measures 8’x6′ as it’s currently ankle-deep in thick, clingy mud.

So… until we get such weather, Tia and Bailey will have to stay put (though I will adjust their pen boundaries to give them some dry standing) so the chickens won the toss.

The vegetable garden is a large circle plot that has been quartered. Last year, the guys only ended up using one quarter and I’ve turned one into a lasagne garden for the winter, hoping to have a nice and rich dig-free zone come spring.

But that still leaves two quarters plus the used one. So I’ve put the big chickens on those three quarters, giving them full permission to scratch it up as much as they like – and have politely asked them to leave as much poo as possible. (They have obliged in that respect with much gusto!)

As you can imagine, they were thrilled with the fresh grass and couldn’t believe their eyes when they ventured onto the veggie patch:

The big chickens in the vegetable garden - 10 February 2009

The big chickens in the vegetable garden - 10 February 2009

The Bantams and Silkies, however, were not very pleased. After the Big Fight, I decided that I would never be able to put the bantams back with the big chooks, and that they therefore needed their own electric netting. I found a good deal online (the price was great, the shade of green is hideous: you can still see it after dusk!) and set them up in their new run. Unfortunately, I only have one energiser and battery for the chickens, so both runs have to be next to one another so the same battery can power both fences. This means that the bantams are on an old patch of grass that really hasn’t grown since the chickens were last on there in October/November.

The Bantams and Silkies - 10 February 2009

The Bantams and Silkies - 10 February 2009

Still, at least Flint was pleased to see me, as always:

Flint and Jo - 10 February 2009

Flint and Jo - 10 February 2009

2 responses to this post.

  1. Just a quick note to let you know there is an award waiting for you at Margaret’s Ramblings, you deserve it, Margaret

  2. Thanks Margaret 🙂

Comments are closed.

