Nemo 0, Humans 1

Following on from yesterday’s post about Fat Boy and Nemo’s fight, I can report that I summoned all my courage and Did The Deed. Many, many thanks to both B and Jennie for their help. Yes, you did help. Lots!

The kill was horrendous. I still can’t believe how hard it was. That was one stubborn chicken and I’m afraid that the immediate death I’d hoped for was not forthcoming. But we did it and I’m certain he didn’t suffer too much.

Plucking was hard but not as hard as I thought it would be, certainly not once I’d got used to it. However, I failed miserably at plucking the wing feathers so we ended up cutting most of the wings off. Shameful, I know, but I just couldn’t shift them!

I was most worried about the gutting and drawing but although Jennie and B were convinced I was about to slice my fingers off, that actually proved to be the easiest part, if a tad on the messy side!

However, there was a major downside to the whole thing. Although he’s got great legs, the rest of his body barely contains any meat! I guess the Buff Orpington / Leghorn cross won’t be taking off any time soon! Scrawny is not the word!

So, rather than the delicious roast dinner I was drooling just thinking about, we have instead decided to delay the Taste Test. Last night, we roasted him in the oven and tonight, once I’ve been to the shops to get the right ingredients, we’ll take what meat there is and make a risotto. Not quite what I was hoping for but, having done it once, I know I can do it again. I’ll just make sure that any future breeding results in a more dinner-friendly outcome!

I’ll let you know how it tastes tomorrow!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by welshpurpletree on 16 February 2009 at 9:22 am

    Well done Jo, that must have taken a hell of a lot of courage. Hope you enjoy your risotto.

  2. You’re certainly a stronger person than me. Although I think I could have handled the preparing process that I ‘helped’ with (although I would have insisted on a big apron and rubber gloves!) I lack the bravery that it must have taken to approach the kill in the first place. Well done. Pudding well deserved!

  3. Nah, not courage. Realism, perhaps? Detachment? Not courage.

    And yes please to pudding! It’s always appreciated, though not always deserved!

  4. Well done on a job which had to be done.

    A method I have seen and know works is…someone hold legs, someone else hold head in one hand, get chopper in the other. chop off head…Its quick, if messy (!)

    Apparently the special “pliers” one can buy for the purpose are no longer allowable? even though they work?

    Hope the risotto is nice 🙂

  5. well done. We all hope to achieve a quick kill… when we last had to do the deed, we armed ourselves with a few alternate methods… just in case…

  6. CW: I think that’s the method we’ll (I’ll?!) be using next time. Instantaneous death is more important than the mess!

    CIG: that’s what we realised – luckily I’d done my research beforehand so didn’t have to rush around with my John Seymour book looking for an alternative!

  7. Well done! Those wing feathers area nightmare eh? More of a sudden death method is the way we’ll go in future as its just too stressful not being sure / waiting for them to go. Hope the risotto was good.

  8. […] The chickens « Nemo 0, Humans 1 […]

  9. It’s stressful, but sounds like it needed to be done. Hope your risotto was good.

Comments are closed.

