100 books

I saw this on a friend’s Facebook account but thought I’d share it on here instead:

Instructions:
1) Look at the list and put an ‘x’ after those you have read.
2) Add a ‘+’ to the ones you LOVE.
3) Star (*) those you plan on reading.
4) Tally your total at the bottom.

(Instead of the ‘x’ I’ve put the ones I’ve read in bold and I’ve underlined the ones I love. The ones I plan to read are in italics.)

1 Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
2 The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
3 Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bront
4 Harry Potter series – JK Rowling
5 To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
6 The Bible
7 Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
8 Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell
9 His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
10 Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
11 Little Women – Louisa M Alcott
12 Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
13 Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
14 Complete Works of Shakespeare
15 Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier
16 The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien
17 Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks
18 Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
19 The Time Traveller’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
20 Middlemarch – George Eliot
21 Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell
22 The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald
23 Bleak House – Charles Dickens
24 War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
25 The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
26 Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
27 Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
28 Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
29 Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
30 The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
31 Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
32 David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
33 Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis
34 Emma – Jane Austen
35 Persuasion – Jane Austen
36 The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe – CS Lewis
37 The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
38 Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres
39 Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
40 Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne
41 Animal Farm – George Orwell
42 The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown
43 One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
44 A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving
45 The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
46 Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery
47 Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
48 The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
49 Lord of the Flies – William Golding
50 Atonement – Ian McEwan
51 Life of Pi – Yann Martel
52 Dune – Frank Herbert
53 Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons
54 Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
55 A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
56 The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
57 A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
58 Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
59 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon
60 Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
61 Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
62 Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
63 The Secret History – Donna Tartt
64 The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
65 Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
66 On The Road – Jack Kerouac
67 Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
68 Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding
69 Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
70 Moby Dick – Herman Melville
71 Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
72 Dracula – Bram Stoker
73 The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
74 Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
75 Ulysses – James Joyce
76 The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
77 Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
78 Germinal – Emile Zola
79 Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray
80 Possession – AS Byatt
81 A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
82 Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
83 The Color Purple – Alice Walker
84 The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
85 Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
86 A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
87 Charlotte’s Web – EB White
88 The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Alborn
89 Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
90 The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton
91 Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
92 The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery
93 The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
94 Watership Down – Richard Adams
95 A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
96 A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
97 The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
98 Hamlet – William Shakespeare
99 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
100 Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

If my counting skills are accurate, I’ve read forty six, loved sixteen and have put six on my “must read” list. Not bad, considering the point of this meme is, supposedly, because the BBC claim that most people have read no more than six of the books on the list which is, I presume, the top 100 best-selling books or something.

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by welshpurpletree on 20 February 2009 at 8:57 am

    I have definitely read at least 6 of those! We’ve got 1984 if you want to borrow it, Hitch Hiker’s Guide & The Little Prince are two of my favourite books. Enjoyed Gone With The Wind too. Got to admit there’s quite a few books on there I’ve never heard of.

  2. Whispers

    I have read all but 3 of them……

    Sory….

    I get my coat, shall I?

  3. But despite being well read, I still cannot spell…

    ooops! should have put “sorry”

  4. WPT: yes please!

    LOL @ CW!

    which three haven’t you read?

  5. Posted by welshpurpletree on 20 February 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Do you want to borrow Hitch Hiker’s Guide and Little Prince too? The Little Prince you can probably read within an hour. I’ll give them to Jennie on Monday.

  6. Excellent! I can read it in the hour before I give it to Jo, then that will be one down for my reading challenge!

    And LOL at Compostwoman too! I thought I’d done well with 48 and a quarter! I think I’ll have to raise my goal a bit now! And I also am intrigued as to which three you’ve not read (one had better not be Winnie the Pooh!)

  7. The list’s rubbish! For a start, it bundles together groups of books so there’s well over 100 on there. OK, I can just about get on board with that. but why does it list ‘the complete works of shakespeare’ and then ‘macbeth’? The same book is listed twice.

    and why list ‘The Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy’, just the one book, and not the quintilogy (is that a word?)?

    Where did this list come from anyway?

  8. I’ve never fancied HHG but I’ll give Little Price a go! Thanks!

  9. Posted by Cathy on 21 February 2009 at 4:33 am

    Oh I have to do this one! Read a lot of these books. When I get a chance I’ll post mine.

  10. Erm…I have lots of books and have read a lot…but even *I* was a bit surprised I had read quite so many….
    ( although there were a couple where I am not sure if the titles are quite right or if I am misremembering them….

    I haven’t read nos 95, 86 56 and ( I miscounted, its 4) no 37….

    I am going to get them just to see what I have missed….

    I agree though about putting “complete works of shakespeare” rather than individual works..I HAVE read them all ( as far as I know,) including sonnets, but its a bit silly to put it like that…

    and yes, I HAVE read the Bible. All of it. Several times.

    :-))

    Anyone want to borrow a book? 😉

  11. @CW – are there any on the list that you would say aren’t worth the effort of reading? Which ones stand out for you?

    (just interested! Not stalking!!)

    Oh, and what did you think of ‘War and Peace’? If you didn’t like it, you have my permission to lie at this point, as I still have 750 pages to go!

    p.s. Jo, sorry for hijacking your blog for a conversation, I knew you wouldn’t mind!

    xx

  12. These are the ones I regularly re read…the ones given 5 stars are in my bedroom pretty well all the time, or near at hand…
    and one or three stars get re read at least one a year…..
    At the last count I had more than 3000 books…and that was some time ago…..

    Compostgirl alone has more than 200 books in her bedroom bookcase ( and it is a small one…)

    My name is Compostwoman and I have a book habit…..;-)

    2 The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien***
    3 Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte***
    4 Harry Potter series – JK Rowling***
    5 To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee***
    87 Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte***
    8 Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell***
    9 His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman***
    11 Little Women – Louisa M Alcott***
    12 Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy**
    13 Catch 22 – Joseph Heller*
    14 Complete Works of Shakespeare (!)***
    15 Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier***
    16 The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien***
    17 Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks***
    18 Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
    20 Middlemarch – George Eliot
    21 Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell***
    24 War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy***
    25 The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and the other 4 (!)*****
    27 Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky***
    28 Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck *****
    29 Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll*****
    30 The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame*****
    31 Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy***
    33 Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis*****
    35 Persuasion – Jane Austen
    40 Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne*****
    41 Animal Farm – George Orwell*****
    44 A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving
    45 The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
    46 Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery*****
    47 Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy*
    48 The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood***
    49 Lord of the Flies – William Golding*
    50 Atonement – Ian McEwan*
    52 Dune – Frank Herbert***
    53 Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons******
    54 Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen*
    55 A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
    58 Brave New World – Aldous Huxley***
    59 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon*****
    60 Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
    61 Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck*****
    62 Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov*****
    65 Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
    66 On The Road – Jack Kerouac*
    67 Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy*
    71 Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens*
    72 Dracula – Bram Stoker*
    73 The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett*****
    74 Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson*****
    75 Ulysses – James Joyce***
    76 The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath*****
    79 Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray
    81 A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens***
    85 Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert*****
    87 Charlotte’s Web – EB White***
    89 Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle*****
    90 The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton
    92 The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery
    93 The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
    94 Watership Down – Richard Adams*****
    96 A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
    97 The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
    99 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
    100 Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

  13. Hurrah for Compostgirl! My parents couldn’t keep up with the speed I read books as a child (they would have needed to be millionaires!) so I learnt about re-reading very early on in life. Which also taught me the skill of forgetting the bulk of the content almost as soon as I finished the last page, a habit which infuriates B as I’ve carried it over the other forms of media such as TV.

    B: “Do you remembered what happened in the last episode?”
    Me: “No.”

    Me: “Who is that guy?”
    B: “He’s the blah blah from episode 2. You know, where X happened. You DO remember, right?”
    Me: “Erm…”
    B: “But we watched it last month!”

  14. Jo,

    Something else we have in common! My Mum and Dad would give me a box full of books each Christmas and birthday, and I also learned the importance of re-reading quite early on. I also started reading Mum’s books at an early age, just to expand the range of books I had available. And I, too, forget things quite quickly. I usually remember the gist of a book or programme, but I’ve never been one who could quote chunks verbatim from a book or film etc. and those who do, really impress me!

    And I suppose you could say we have a few books too. I can’t actually fit them all in my (quite small) flat at the moment, so Dad is very kindly housing a few dozen on a bookcase in his study. I’m dipping in and out of them and treating it like a lending library!

  15. I DO remember books and can quote bits…I used to be a lot better but old age and having a child has done in my memory I think 😉

    I just like re reading some books, they become old friends and even though I know them very well, I still like them…

    Jennie…I found W and P hard going as well…..I enjoyed it BUT it IS a bit of a chore, I agree!

    I really need to get my forum going I think, so we can have chats ,more easily…

    OR I need you lot over for a day, here…..

  16. Hmm, you two have had children.

    What’s my excuse?!

    And CW, a day of chickens, woodland, swimming cats and excellent company?

    Sounds like my kind of day 🙂

  17. Posted by welshpurpletree on 23 February 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Jo and Jennie, I must remember that excuse for me forgetting lots of things – it’s so when I watch, read, do them again, it all seems new to me. I too re-read lots of books especially when I was younger, particularly my mum’s old Enid Blyton’s.

Comments are closed.

