The rear guard

My final hour on the farm yesterday afternoon before leaving for the day will not be ranking up there in my favourites list.

As I was carrying the weaners’ feed across their enclosure, they swarmed about my feet as usual. Before I knew it, I’d hit the deck, landing rather hard and regretting the lack of recent rain (note to the weather gods: this was temporary and I’m really quite happy with the status quo) as the soft landing I would have been guaranteed all winter was missing. I’m not sure how, but not only did I not spill a single nut, I also managed to keep their hungry snouts out of the bowl, even as they were climbing into my lap! It was a struggle, but I managed to right myself and despite the tingling feeling running all the way up my spine, carried on as though nothing had happened.

Later on, walking back from Tia and Bailey’s enclosure to get a fresh bucket of water for them, Snipe and Midge were racing about the field like idiots and Snipe in particular put on a turn of speed that would have put a greyhound to shame. I can verify this as she misjudged a fly-by and ran straight into the back of my legs. I went flying.

I then spilt some of the water down my wellies.

Then, just as I thought I’d lost all my dignity, I got my foot caught in Tia and Bailey’s electric netting and once again was given the opportunity to inspect the ground up close and personal.

I was laughing so hard that my attempts to disentangle myself went wrong and down I went again.

The dogs were convinced this was a new game and let me know quite how much they loved the idea by jumping all over me.

I’m just grateful that Tia and Bailey weren’t feeling quite so skittish!

5 responses to this post.

  1. My goodness, you must set CCTV up there so we can see the edited highlights. Hope you are not too sore today, Margaret

  2. Are you and Stoney in completion to see who can come up with the best attempt at injuring yourselves. ROFLMAO.

  3. @Margaret: I know I have animals but doing the there’s-cold-water-down-my-welly dance is front of unseen eyes would be one humiliation too many 🙂

    @vetnurse: I did think of Stoney, especially when I was tangled up in the electric fence, but decided I enjoyed writing that little ditty too much to consider the idea of karma…!

  4. Posted by suzy2110 on 1 March 2009 at 9:08 am

    Wow- you truly are Unlucky Alf!! We need to see some of these “You’ve Been Framed” moments, you know!!

  5. No, no, your imaginations will undoubtedly put on a worthy show 🙂

Comments are closed.

