Scrumpy and Tia: one year on

Continuing the story of how I ended up with so many Kune Kunes for breeding rather than the pets I was originally intent on buying, when we rang up for some advice on how to handle our not-quit-so-friendly acquisition, Stella, we found out that they were selling off as many of their pigs as possible due to overcrowding.

So, as was inevitable, we found ourselves driving through the stunning landscape north of Aberystywth and met a lot of Kune Kunes. In fact, we didn’t even have to ask why they were selling off what they could: they were inundated with pigs and you could barely move for piri piris and inquisitive grunts. It was pouring with rain (and I mean by the bucket) but even so, Scrumpy just stood out for me. She had this look on her face that just said “you want me, you know you do” and I agreed!

But then Mum spotted this little dot hanging around the doorway between the pigs’ shed and their yard, a poor little thing that was clearly the underdog. But, despite her forlorn expression, she also had a distinct look about her, except hers was more “please get me out of here”. Mum stated that it didn’t matter how many pigs I decided to get: the little thing was coming home with us.

There was a third gilt that we were very taken with but in the end we decided that three was about as many as we could cope with for the time being, especially as the two porkers, Vicky and Albert, weren’t booked in until the end of March.

We put down a deposit and spent the next day discussing possible names and planning all sorts of who knows what.

Then, on a much drier day, B and I drove back to collect the new members of the family.

Stella was not at all impressed with her two new pen mates and sulked but the two girls made themselves at home regardless:

Scrumpy and Tia - 2 March 2008

Scrumpy and Tia - 2 March 2008

I can’t get over how much they’ve changed in the past twelve months, especially Tia! Looking at her now, I can barely recognise that little dot in the photo. We might have sold Stella but getting Tia and Scrumpy was definitely the right thing to do, no matter how tough things are.

