Round-up

It’s been a busy few days

  • Wormed the pigs this week. Used the injection Ivomectin, which does internal worms and external parasites. Stabbed myself as well several times, so I’m covered. Not easy to inject “under the skin” when your pigs don’t have very loose skin. Add that to the self-injecting and next time, I’m using granules.
  • Sliced my finger open yesterday on a tin as I picked it up to throw into the recycling box. Ouch.
  • B has gone away for the week to see relatives. Not sure who misses her more, me or her cat. Horatio’s consequently sulking big time and won’t talk to me. I’ll put a wash on soon, that’ll cheer him up.
  • After many months of eating properly, Midge has gone back to being a fussy eater and in the past three days, hasn’t eaten much more than a handful of biscuits. All I can do is wait for her to get hungry…
  • My hand is covered in scratches. I think one of the cats went for me while I was asleep last night!
  • Before worming the pigs, I measured them all to get an estimate of their weights. I’ve been feeding them too much. Oops!
  • It was sunny yesterday morning when I fed the pigs, so I didn’t put on my waterproof coat. Predictably, the heavens opened and I was forced to wait it out in Tia and Bailey’s ark. Tia was thrilled and settled down for lots of belly rubs and head scritches. Bailey was a bit surprised when he eventually had enough of the hailstones and made for shelter!
  • I want to get on with the vegetable garden but we keep getting frosts. Most annoying.
2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by welshpurpletree on 10 March 2009 at 3:49 pm

    When I first read this, I thought it said you’d weighed the pigs and I was going to ask you how you did it. Had visions of you standing on a pair of scales holding each pig. Then I re-read it and found you measured them to work out their weight.

    Sounds horrible having to inject them – and painful!

  2. Lol, I have weighed cats, dogs and young pigs like that before but the thought of trying to do the adults on a set of bathroom scales is most amusing!!!

    And the injections were horrible and painful but I can confirm that the pigs were wormed correctly and the Ivomectin has done its thing. I’ll leave it there, you don’t need to know the details!

Comments are closed.

