Archive for March 13th, 2009

Identifying the eggs!

I’ve been trying to work out which hen lays which egg but never seemed to be in the right place at the right time. But I got lucky yesterday and found Speckle, the Warren x Buff Orpington who hatched last July, in the nest box. She hadn’t laid yet but I kept popping back and eventually struck a yolky gold! Irene (Dorking x Light Sussex) was leaving the nest box when I arrived the second time but I already know what her eggs look like – and hers was sitting next to what had to be Speckle’s. I popped back a while later, just on the off chance, and caught both Dawn (Buff x ?) and Willow (one of our two older Buff Orpington hens) in the nest box. I kept an eye on the girls and Dawn left first so I put my hand under an indignant Willow and removed my prize. A huffy Will popped hers out a short while later and I know now which eggs are laid by the bigger hens! Buffy didn’t lay yesterday but as she’s also a Buff Orpington, hers shouldn’t look any different to Willow’s, though she is laying very big at the moment.

L-R: Speckle, Irene, Dawn, Willow

L-R: Speckle, Irene, Dawn, Willow

From the back, L-R: Buffy and ? (11th), Speckle, Irene, Dawn, Willow

From the back, L-R: Buffy and ? (11th), Speckle, Irene, Dawn, Willow

This is great news as I can now keep Speckle, who was sired (is that the right term for chickens?) by Fat Boy, our resident Buff Orpington cockerel, without worrying that I’ll put one of her eggs, fertilised by Fat Boy, under a broody hen. Hurrah!

