Identifying the eggs!

I’ve been trying to work out which hen lays which egg but never seemed to be in the right place at the right time. But I got lucky yesterday and found Speckle, the Warren x Buff Orpington who hatched last July, in the nest box. She hadn’t laid yet but I kept popping back and eventually struck a yolky gold! Irene (Dorking x Light Sussex) was leaving the nest box when I arrived the second time but I already know what her eggs look like – and hers was sitting next to what had to be Speckle’s. I popped back a while later, just on the off chance, and caught both Dawn (Buff x ?) and Willow (one of our two older Buff Orpington hens) in the nest box. I kept an eye on the girls and Dawn left first so I put my hand under an indignant Willow and removed my prize. A huffy Will popped hers out a short while later and I know now which eggs are laid by the bigger hens! Buffy didn’t lay yesterday but as she’s also a Buff Orpington, hers shouldn’t look any different to Willow’s, though she is laying very big at the moment.

L-R: Speckle, Irene, Dawn, Willow

L-R: Speckle, Irene, Dawn, Willow

From the back, L-R: Buffy and ? (11th), Speckle, Irene, Dawn, Willow

From the back, L-R: Buffy and ? (11th), Speckle, Irene, Dawn, Willow

This is great news as I can now keep Speckle, who was sired (is that the right term for chickens?) by Fat Boy, our resident Buff Orpington cockerel, without worrying that I’ll put one of her eggs, fertilised by Fat Boy, under a broody hen. Hurrah!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Hurrah!

    (another egg maniac joins my gang….soon we will take over the world mmmmwahhhhhhhhhha !)

    :-))

  2. Bow down and worship or I shall throw these unbelievably large piles of chicken poo at you 🙂

  3. Ah, but *I* can tell the difference between one pale brown egg and another pale brown egg…YOU have tinted eggs in there!

    Bet my pile of poo is bigger than yours, anyway 🙂

  4. Ah, but I’m not an egg-geek 😉

    I trod in it. Trust me, mine’s bigger 🙂

  5. Posted by welshpurpletree on 13 March 2009 at 2:50 pm

    I can just about tell who’s laid which egg. Eventhough they’re all Black Rocks their eggs are still slightly different. Strangely Squeak seems to be laying the biggest eggs eventhough she’s the smallest out of the three.

  6. blimey, is it national blog-about-eggs-week or something?

  7. I’m trying to work out if I can get my uncle to send me a rhea’s egg from Argentina… That would be worth blogging about!!

  8. Posted by thegardensmallholder on 14 March 2009 at 10:01 am

    It really does help knowing who lays what. I can tell who lays what from my flock of 6, but the other smaller flock is a bit hit and miss. When any of them are having an off day its normally egg related so I check my egg list to see if that particular hen laid recently.

    Yep, I do keep an egg diary !!! Ha ha

  9. I have a spreadsheet though as of yet, it doesn’t include the layers, just the end result. I enter the daily totals for the big chooks and the bantams and then have monthly and yearly totals…

    Argh!!!!

Comments are closed.

