Archive for March 18th, 2009

Desert Island MP3s

I like music but I’m not a an aficionado. Most of the time, I hear a tune or a song and think to myself about how much I like it, but I couldn’t tell you who sang it or what it was called, and I can generally only remember one or two lines – and I often mishear them or get them wrong in some other way.

So, when Jennie tagged me to take part in her version of Desert Island Discs (or MP3s, as she calls it, coz she’s young, hip and happening, unlike me, an old fogey), I panicked slightly as while there’s lots of music I love, how on earth would I describe it? That song by the singer with short hair that goes “dum dum dum” somewhere in the middle… Think she’s a red head. Could be brown, though…

Still, with only five songs (these modern versions are rubbish! Should be 8!!!) I couldn’t go too far wrong! And I even managed to resist the urge to pick albums, even though I got permission!

  1. Livin’ on a Prayer by Bon Jovi
  2. Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen
  3. Do you Hear the People Sing? from Les Mis
  4. Respect by Aretha Franklin
  5. I’m a bit rubbish when it comes to classical music but as a recent convert to Classic FM (I’ve given up on Radio 2 other than Sarah Kennedy, Terry Wogan, Chris Evans and Mo Dutta), I’m slowly becoming a big, if uneducated, fan. So, for my fifth and final choice, all I can say is this: A classical piece. Something with the full orchestra. The type of thing that makes you want to jump up on your feet and do something. The classical equivalent to a rock anthem!

My book would be the Lord of the Rings trilogy, and while I like the idea of a wireless laptop and a broadband connection, in truth, my luxury item would have to be my dogs.

Passing it on people, passing it on. Ye all be tagged!

