Asleep on the job

Apologies to all of you who must be bored rigid with my witterings about digging the vegetable garden but it’s taken over my life so the fact that it’s also taken over the blog is inevitable.

I’ve finally developed a rhythm and a system and found today’s efforts to be extremely relaxing, not least because it feels like I’m finally making progress. I’m still not sure how many stones I should be removing from what’s proving to be damn good soil, but I’m picking up as many as I can.

On Monday, Snipe tried to help me by retrieving all the stones I was throwing out of the patch but as I don’t let her play with stones, it really didn’t take her long to connect the cross tone of my voice with her actions: she brought me the squeaky green ghost as an apology. She chewed it for a while and was obviously watching me tackle the turf, since, to make up for her earlier indiscretion, she helped out:

Snipe helps dig the veggie garden!

Snipe helps dig the veggie garden!

Yesterday, however, all my “helpers” spent the afternoon snoozing in the sun:

Snipe

Snipe

The weaners

The weaners

Midge

Midge

I doubt I’ll be digging much over the next few days, as the forecast looks rather soggy, so if you’re lucky, I might find something else to blog about! Maybe…!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by suzy2110 on 25 March 2009 at 8:50 am

    Those pics are hilarious! We need to get digging at our veggie patch too. I am hoping to persuade others to do this for me, so I can sleep like Midge… 😀

  2. I’m chucking all the stones I find into the paths between my half-arsed raised beds (so called because I’m just raising them, and not edging them properly). That way hopefully it will all be a bit less soggy when it rains, which is most of the time

  3. Posted by thegardensmallholder on 25 March 2009 at 11:05 am

    Not bored rigid at all….just rigid from digging away at our vegetable garden too. Its never ending is it?
    Keep it up, its coming together nicely by the looks of things.

  4. Suzy: tell me about it! Seems like a much better way of spending a sunny day, though with today’s gloomy clouds and gusty wind, the digging is a doing a good job of keeping me toasty warm!

    disgruntled: I’m going to use my rocks and boulders to create a border round the beds. Which means they’ll sit in a heap for the rest of eternity. Next rainy day, I’m going to gather them all up and move them out of the middle of the lawn!

    thegardensmallholder: Never ending? Never? Nooooooooooooo! Am chuffed with how much I’ve done so employing maximum tunnel vision to avoid noticing how much is still left to do! I am, however, pleased with how little I’m aching. I hereby recommend that all gardeners spend a winter dragging pig arks across a muddy field. Works wonders to prepare you!

  5. Posted by thegardensmallholder on 26 March 2009 at 10:11 am

    Damn! I just need some pigs and an ark, oh and a muddy field. I do have guinea pigs with a hidey-hole arch thing, does that count?!
    😉

  6. Not convinced your guinea pig(s?) will be thrilled by the move to The Mud just for you to build up your muscles, but it does sound like a great video for YouTube…! 🙂

Comments are closed.

