Feral garlic?

A while ago, there were some cloves of garlic in the fruit and veg I get for the pigs from my local greengrocer. Even though I knew the pigs don’t eat it, I still chucked the cloves into their buckets and thought no more about it.

Until yesterday, when I saw something rather unexpected whilst checking to see how the grass is doing on their old patch:

Feral garlic?!

Feral garlic?!

All in all, I counted six plants! I’ll probably transplant them later on when my veggie garden has been dug but they seem happy enough where they for the moment. Having said that, I like the idea of “feral garlic” so I might just leave them to it, though that does mean I can’t put the pigs back on there until after they’ve been harvested. If they survive, that is.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by suzy2110 on 26 March 2009 at 12:52 pm

    How funny that the pigs hate garlic so much! I think that’s great- I hope it will taste lovely!

  2. It just makes me laugh. I’m going to all this effort to dig myself some proper beds (double dug, I hasten to add) and the bloomin’ things are growing all by themselves!!

  3. Posted by thegardensmallholder on 26 March 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Hee hee I was going to say the very same thing Jo! Ah well, at least you got yourself some free plants 🙂

  4. Mmmmmm, garlic!

  5. you can’t just put the pigs in the veg patch and turn the old pig pens into veg gardens can you? It sounds like they’ve done most of the hard work for you…

  6. Ah, if only it was that easy but as the blog post I forgot to write would have explained had I remembered, being a small patch in comparison to their 100m circumference enclosures, it really wouldn’t take the pigs long to get bored with the limited space – and to break out, leading to an amusing “the pigs are in the garden” situation. Luckily, mine are both well-trained and gullible and followed an empty bucket back to their proper pen, where they were rewarded with strawberries. Even Fergie refused to be carried (awww, she’d growing up!) and ran the whole way back!

  7. […] I’ll confess that my knowledge of plants extends as far as grass, with the odd bluebell thrown in, but there’s one plant which has got me scratching my head until I remembered my feral garlic. […]

Comments are closed.

