Appearances can be deceptive

A couple of self-deprecating anecdotes for your amusement:

Several weeks ago, I went to the local library to do some photocopying. I went up to the desk and asked if they did indeed have a photocopying machine. The librarian nodded and was in the middle of telling me where it was located when she had a proper look at me. An old and scruffy jumper, muddy jeans, muddy leather boots, messy hair… She stopped and asked if I’d like her to do the photocopying for me.

Then, on Saturday afternoon, I was feeding the pigs and as the weather kept turning from hot sunshine to heavy rain with little warning, decided that after the morning’s soaking, this time I’d go for too hot but dry and donned my raincoat, which is actually a child’s one. I was happily chatting away to Tia and Bailey, my back to the road that runs alongside the field, when I heard a voice: “Hey, kid!”

I turned round in shock and came face to face with a teenage boy who proceeded to put on the most incredible display of blushing that I’ve ever seen. After going through a whole spectrum of colours, his cheeks settled on a vivid colour that would do any post box proud. “Erm, can you tell me the way to the train station?”, he stammered, and I duly gave him directions, trying to stop myself from laughing. Off he walked (well, ran) and I almost wet my pants, I was laughing so hard. Readers, he was half my age!!!!!!!!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I would take it as a compliment, LOL. I keep hoping I will be asked for ID when I buy my occasional bottle of Baileys but at 60 I have a feeling that won’t happen.

    Margaret

  2. Posted by thegardensmallholder on 1 April 2009 at 10:11 am

    I can just picture the shades of rouge 🙂

Comments are closed.

