Yet more chicks!!

Two more chicks yesterday but as far as I can tell, they came from the same egg! I put eight eggs under Mama Silkie, two hatched on Monday, two yesterday: but she has still got five eggs! Hmm, maybe one was a double yolker?

No photos as my battery died but I’ll get some today.

Running much later than I thought so I’ll take a break from the wretched garden later and post some photos 🙂

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thegardensmallholder on 1 April 2009 at 9:57 am

    Blimey! You could very well have a lot more chicks than you bargained for at this rate! Very cute though im sure…bring on the pics 🙂

  2. Posted by welshpurpletree on 1 April 2009 at 10:11 am

    Wow! I find it amazing that 1 chick fits in an egg, let only 2.

  3. I’d never thought of a double yolker giving two chicks – but it makes perfect sense.

  4. I am sure I have read that double yolkers do NOT produce 2 chicks, which is why it isn’t really a desirable trait?

    am not sure now..will check!

    But want pics of chicks…!

    Have 2 mad broodies at the mo, so lots of squarking going on…

  5. Ah ha

    Double yolkers can produce 2 chicks, but they can’t get out of the shell as they only have each other to push against, and not the shell, so find it hard to brake open the shell..so apparently die in the egg….

    still not sure about this though…..

  6. CW, you got me.

    Sorry everyone, couldn’t resist a little fun on April Fool’s Day!

    To confirm, we’ve had three chicks: the two who hatched on Monday afternoon and one jet-black one this morning.

    No double yolkers!

  7. Ooh, evil Jo! Playing on our known gullibility!

  8. Posted by dowhatyoulove on 1 April 2009 at 10:54 pm

    hehe, good April Fools! You had my mind going on that one. We did have an interesting thing last year though. We had a chick hatch out with 4 legs. We call her caboose. She grew up just fine, she has a bottom half of another chicken hanging off her backside. She is an interesting girl, but she does great. Just recently the extra legs fell off, but the rest of the ‘caboose’ is still there….. we will see what happens. (and no this is not April fools, this is a real chicken! just wish I had taken a picture of it before her little legs fell off, we didnt think they were going to)

Comments are closed.

