Can’t see the trees for the … brambles!

Regular readers will know that I’ve been on a mission since moving the pigs into their field as it was covered in brambles.

And when I say covered, consider this. According to some local farmers, it’s been at least a decade since the field was last grazed, probably closer to two…

So clearing them has been quite an undertaking but I’m getting there slowly, mainly thanks to the pigs. We have a system. I cut them down to the root. They eat the leaves, stand on the cut stems and break them and then dig up and eat the roots. I clear up after them and get the ones they’ve missed.

I’m happy to admit that the bulk of the hard work is done by my Kune Kune friends, but my bit’s not exactly easy so I was really pleased when I cleared a massive area of brambles yesterday that had grown over some young (and very old) trees, and were so dense that even Midge struggled to get through them.

Typically, I only thought about taking a ‘before’ shot once I’d finished, but this is how it looks now:

The ex-bramble forest - 23 April 2009

The ex-bramble forest

To give you an idea of how it looked before, this is a small patch I haven’t cleared yet:

Brambles on the to-do list! 23 April 2009

Brambles on the to-do list!

It took me over three hours to clear that jungle and what amazed me is that despite all the noise I was making, Tia and Bailey stayed asleep in their ark the whole time! They woke up just as I was finishing and wandered around in amazement, looks of “what happened?” on their faces! Then they discovered the fallen brambles and gorged themselves happily on the leaves. By the time I made it back with their tea a few hours later, they’d explored their new ground under the trees and seemed pleased with the results.

If only that was the last of it!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Mr Uhdd has been battling with brambles for weeks and I’ve dug out the thorns from his fingers scalp and big toe!

  2. I’ve had so many in my scalp, I think blackberries might start growing in my hair this autumn!

Comments are closed.

