Feral beans?

This is my first spring at the farm every time a new plant starts to grow, it’s a lovely surprise. Apart from the Himalayan Balsam, which is everywhere.

I’ll confess that my knowledge of plants extends as far as grass, with the odd bluebell thrown in, but there’s one plant which has got me scratching my head until I remembered my feral garlic.

There are only two of these plants growing in the whole field, they’re both close to one another and are growing where I used to feed Tia and Bailey their veggies.

Mystery plant in the pig field

A bird's eye view

Mystery plant in the pig field

And from the side

Erm, am I barking up the wrong tree, or is my Mystery Plant a broad bean seedling?!

2 responses to this post.

  1. It’s a fava bean (aka Broad Bean).

  2. Thanks, HDR! So that’s how easy it is… take one broad bean that’s beyond eating, give it to your pigs, let them stand on it and push it into the soil, and then just and let it grow! LOL 🙂

Comments are closed.

