600 eggs!

Wow, as of New Year’s Day, my hens have laid 600 eggs!

That’s not bad and I’d like to thank them for each and every one, especially the ones that made my omelette the other night. It was the first time I’d managed to make one without it turning into scrambled eggs, which made it doubly tasty. (Thanks, Delia!)

Peggy Sue, the Pekin x Silkie who hatched in November, is yet to even think about laying, but her “sister”, Molly the pure Pekin bantam, has been laying for a couple of weeks now – they are very weeny eggs, but perfectly formed nonetheless. It’s good to know that I’ve got a pure Pekin daughter of John and Dolly, in addition to Peggy Sue, and it looks as though one of the other pure Pekin chicks from the April lot is also female. Fingers crossed!

5 responses to this post.

  1. You’ve been eating a lot of omelettes then this year? 😉

    Well done to your talents and of course those marvellous hens!

  2. Not omelettes, lots of (unexpected and unwanted) scrambled eggs though 😉 !

  3. Wow. That sounded like a huge number and then I added up mine and realised they’ve done the same. Mind you we share with my neighbours so we’ve had c. 300 since Christmas. We too eat a lot of scrambled eggs, and baked eggs, and omelettes and fried eggs and…

  4. Hi Eliane, thanks for stopping by! Funnily enough, I followed a link and followed another link and ended up at your blog this afternoon, and bookmarked it so I could read it properly this evening! It’s a small world 🙂

  5. LOL, just checked my Twitter account… totally forgot I’d added you!

Comments are closed.

