Update on the lasagne garden

Last autumn, Jennie and I set about establishing a lasagne garden. I’ve been slowly adding to it all winter and spring so it’s very much in various stages of development and is what could honestly be described as a “work in progress”!

However, having read Compostwoman’s excellent post about making compost, I realised that the lasagne garden is quite clearly too dry as there are a fair number of ants hanging around it.

So yesterday afternoon I whipped off the tarpaulins that have been covering the patch so that the overnight rain could get it nice and soggy.

Lasagne garden - 7 May 2009

Lasagne garden - 7 May 2009

As you can see from the photo, the bit we did first has come along and nicely and is, in my very inexpert opinion, ready for planting. I’m going to use the lasagne garden for things like courgettes, melons (well, it’s worth a try!) cucumbers, gourds, pumpkins, etc.

There’s one patch that we’re not using this year so in the next couple of weeks, I’m going to turn this into a lasagne garden in preparation for next spring. If I start now, it should be more than ready by next year!

