Meet Xander!

We’ve finally got a replacement for our much-missed Buff Orpington cockerel, Fat Boy. This is Xander, the new kid on the block, a 10 week old Buff Orpington who I bought on Sunday afternoon.

Xander the Buff Orpington with the Bantams and Silkies - 18 May 2009

Xander the Buff Orpington with the Bantams and Silkies

He’s a bit small to go in with the big chickens so he’s going to live with the Pekins and Silkies until he’s bigger. This is probably wise as the hens are all beating him up, which is sadly only to be expected. Better it comes from hens their size than the Buff hens!

He’s called Xander as all the Buffs are named after characters from Buffy the Vampire Slayer (original, aren’t we?!) and although I had been hoping to call him Rupert, the fact that he leaps into arms whenever I’m around so I can protect him reminds me of Xander from the early seasons!

In other news, Willow has been broody for ages so I’ve bought some fertilised eggs to put under her: half a dozen Maran eggs and half a dozen Light Sussex, though those might be Maran crosses as the person I got them said that her ladies went walkies and she found them in with her Maran cockerel. Oops! Still, I don’t really mind, especially as I got a really good deal for them as a result!

I moved Mama Silkie out of the broody ark and into the Eglu with Xander and the other bantams and Silkies and having cleaned it out, put Willow in there yesterday morning. She wasn’t happy about the move, so I left her for the day to settle down and finally put the eggs under her in the afternoon. I hope she’s still sitting today! If all is successful, the eggs should hatch on or around 8 June.

Keep your fingers crossed!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by welshpurpletree on 19 May 2009 at 11:09 am

    How exciting waiting for eggs to hatch, the Marans look pretty, they lay dark brown eggs too don’t they? How’s your broody ark been standing up to all the rain?

  2. They’re quite nice birds and yes, their eggs are very dark brown. Assuming any hatch, this will be my first time owning Marans. They’re growers but are, I am told, very tasty. The Light Sussex are much faster growers and are also most tasty.

    Which means that any and all that hatch will be hens and I’ll have the sell or eat dilemma to contend with!!!!

  3. Oh, and broody ark is holding up quite nicely under its tarpaulin. Willow only just fits in it, the Pekins and Silkies will have to swap homes with Willow and her chicks when (if) anything hatches as while there’s just enough room for a broody Buff Orpington, there won’t be enough room for a Buff Orpington hen and her chicks!!

Comments are closed.

