Old friends and new

I had a wonderful day yesterday, and not just because the sun was shining and the sky was blue. Neither was it because despite the heat of the day and the frantic piggy wallowing activity, the ground was still wet enough from the week’s rain which meant they didn’t need to empty their water buckets, which meant that I didn’t need to refill them.

No, it was because I did what few people do and actually met (in real life, I hasten to add) someone I’ve been chatting to on one of the numerous smallholding forums. A and her husband J live in south Wales, just a short drive from me, and I spent a lovely couple of hours at their place, meeting their 150 (!!) chickens and ducks, not to mention their pair of Kune Kune pigs, the naughty trio of pygmy goats and the pair of nanny goats, one of whom is due to drop any day now.

A and J are a lovely couple, genuinely nice people who are passionate about their animals and living the kind of life where they know where their food has come from and what’s gone in to it. J gave me enough garlic to stave off the entire vampire cast list from Buffy, so I’ll be planting those today.

Then, Jennie and her clan came over for dinner, which everyone seemed to enjoy apart from the dogs, who were banished outdoors as our kitchen simply isn’t big enough to cope!

It looks as though today is going to be another gorgeous day … hurrah!

