My pack

I’ve spent the past couple of days cutting down the never-ending growth of bracken and Himalayan Balsam, the former being a toxic plant, and the latter being a menace which stops grass and other plants growing, leading to soil erosion.

Naturally, I had the dogs with me and it was interesting to observe how they chose to spend their “free time”. Snipe picked a sunny spot (yes, you read that right!) and lay down, seemingly dead to the world, but whenever I moved too far away, she padded after me, sometimes coming to greet me, but generally selecting a new spot, closing her eyes, and so it would start again.

Snipe - 8 June 2009

Snipe - 8 June 2009

Midge, on the other hand, spent the time rushing through the undergrowth, hunting for mice and who knows what else. She didn’t catch anything, but certainly had fun trying. If she was out of sight for too long, I’d whistle and within moments, she would appear, doing a funny bunny jump through the undergrowth, which, to be fair, was at least twice her height.

Midge - 8 June 2009

Midge - 8 June 2009

I did consider training Snipe to pull the bracken or balsam out of the ground but she really wasn’t interested!

