Archive for June 21st, 2009

Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen

Last night, B and I, along with a whole bunch of people from her work, went to see Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen. As films go, I enjoyed it and certainly didn’t notice the 150 minute running time, plus extra for the trailers. Considering how uncomfortable cinema seats are, I tend to use this as a guide to how much I enjoy different films!

Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen

Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen

Typically, as with any film concerned with blowing things up and using lots of special effects, the plot line was hardly intricate, and the number of boob shots involving sexy women was, I felt, rather insulting. When oh when oh when will movie producers, directors and script writers come to the conclusion that a female character could possible be used for something more than titillation? That maybe her role in the film could be more about, say, the plot, and less about some guy’s prepubescent fantasy involving hot women and motorbikes?

Apart from that irritation, it was a good film and if you’re even mildly into geeky things, this film is a must-see.

Oh – am I getting old for thinking that the volume was too loud? I mean, when your jeans leg starts vibrating as a rssult of the sound waves, surely someone should turn things down, just a little?

