Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen

Last night, B and I, along with a whole bunch of people from her work, went to see Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen. As films go, I enjoyed it and certainly didn’t notice the 150 minute running time, plus extra for the trailers. Considering how uncomfortable cinema seats are, I tend to use this as a guide to how much I enjoy different films!

Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen

Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen

Typically, as with any film concerned with blowing things up and using lots of special effects, the plot line was hardly intricate, and the number of boob shots involving sexy women was, I felt, rather insulting. When oh when oh when will movie producers, directors and script writers come to the conclusion that a female character could possible be used for something more than titillation? That maybe her role in the film could be more about, say, the plot, and less about some guy’s prepubescent fantasy involving hot women and motorbikes?

Apart from that irritation, it was a good film and if you’re even mildly into geeky things, this film is a must-see.

Oh – am I getting old for thinking that the volume was too loud? I mean, when your jeans leg starts vibrating as a rssult of the sound waves, surely someone should turn things down, just a little?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by LittleFfarm Dairy on 7 July 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Nope;

    with you there, matie – on both counts. I remember going to the cinema to see the first installment of Lord of the Rings & being hugely disappointed: I had to go & see it again to discover whether it actually was enjoyable, or not as I’d had to cover my ears for much of the film – purely thanks to the herculean volume from the surround sound system which I swear would’ve made my ears bleed, had I left them uncovered. In fact even my Dad – who is stone deaf, & wears a hearing aid – found it far too loud!

    And as for the gratuitous boob shots & motor bikes, films like that are infuriating AND in fact mildly insulting…although I suppose at least in ‘Tomb Raider’ whilst the protagonist does wear skimpy outfits & ride motor bikes at least she’s tough – & NEVER would consider going pillion!

    But yup – would be nice to for heroines to have summat a bit more ‘up top’ than cleavage in an action movie, for a change….ah well, at least we have Hermione in the next ‘Harry Potter’ to look forward to, I suppose! 🙂

    *sigh* not that I’ll get to see it – Tony will be too busy working; & I’ll be managing the farm *sigh* 😦

  2. Glad it’s not just me!

    As for Harry Potter … I’ll resist bragging that we’re off to see it on the 22nd! Orange Wednesdays, we love you!

Comments are closed.

