As it rains, so I return indoors to the blog!

Sorry about the absence, I took advantage of the glorious weather to be a busy bee outside and have rather neglected the blog of late.

So much has been going on, I thought I’d cheat and do a photo update of some of the highlights (yes, yes, I know that you know this is because I’ve actually forgotten what I’ve been up to and the photos I’ve taken are the only reminders…)

For various reasons, I’ve been unable to send any pigs off for slaughter so I’m still feeding eight hungry mouths, which is annoying me somewhat. The only good thing about it is that little Curly is rapidly growing so we should get some decent meat from him when his time comes. Which it had better do soon! Oh, I lie, there is one other piece of good news about Pinky and Curly’s delayed departure: they’ve cleared a massive patch of brambles for me! In fact, I’ve had to totally adjust their fence so that they’ve got something to eat as they’ve completely exhausted their original patch:

Curly and Pinky - 22 June 2009

Curly and Pinky - 22 June 2009

We have two new hens: Maude and Mildred, a pair of Warren POLs (point of lay) who are approximately 20 weeks old. The others are being extremely mean to them but I’m hoping they’ll settle in soon.

Maude - 22 June 2009

Maude - 22 June 2009

It was a no-go with Willow and her Maran and Light Sussex eggs. Not a single one hatched. I did think that they weren’t warm enough to the touch quite early on during her incubation, but there was nothing I could so except wait and see. Thankfully, she got off her nest when I (gingerly) took the eggs away, but right on cue, Speckle went broody! She’s been in the broody ark all week and I’ve been promised some Light Sussex eggs, so I’m hoping she’ll settle in and hatch some LS chicks who should be good for laying and the pot…

When the sun next comes out, I’ll try to take some photos of the two new girls. They’re quite camera shy at the moment, not that I blame them!

Did I mention that it’s been hot, hot, hot? Here’s the evidence: even Fergie, who hated getting muddy, has been spotted frequenting the local wallow:

Fergie - 23 June 2009

Fergie - 23 June 2009

And Midge, the dog who also hates getting muddy and wet, has completely shocked me with her choice of Favourite Game:

Midge - 24 June 2009

Midge - 24 June 2009

B’s cat is a bit of an idiot:

Horatio - 24 June 2009

Horatio - 24 June 2009

But I can’t talk. Just look at my dog:

Snipe - 24 June 2009

Snipe - 24 June 2009

And here she is again, this time with her new toy:

Snipe - 25 June 2009

Snipe - 25 June 2009

So that’s what I’ve been up (not to mention everything I’ve forgotten about).

And you?

One response to this post.

  1. […] in the depths of June (you know, “summer”) I blogged about our two new Warren hens, Maude and Mildred. For the most part, they were settling in when Mildred decided that the grass was infinitely […]

Comments are closed.

