Butterfly, butterfly, whence do you come?

I confess I am no naturalist, let alone a lepidopterist, so all I was able to do when I saw this beauty was ooh and aah and take a photo, in the hopes that someone out there will be able to put a name to it:

Butterfly - 28 July 2009

Butterfly - 28 July 2009

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mim on 6 August 2009 at 8:39 am

    It is reall rather gorgeous and I believe that it is a peacock butterfly – wow nerd alert 🙂

  2. Posted by Mim on 6 August 2009 at 8:41 am

    But I’m sure you could call it whatever you wanted to – Phylida for example 😉

  3. Lovely photo…it’s a peacock butterfly. A good year, despite the rain for butterflies it seems.

  4. Thanks, Mim and Sandra 🙂

  5. That’s a peacock butterfly. Haven’t seen one for years! My Dad had a Buddleia bush in the 70’s and 80’s that used to be covered in those and Red Admirals and a few cabbage whites too. Such a shame we don’t see the wildlife we used to. Wonder if they’ve migrated to warmer climes or died out?
    We put a buddleia in our garden and I told my kids it would get covered in butterflies but there have been hardly any.

  6. Hi Lyn, thanks for stopping by.

    I’ve seen loads of butterflies and caterpillars this summer but as you can tell, I couldn’t tell you which ones!

  7. No worries, I just thought it was lovely to see one again, even if only on a photo.
    BTW I love your blog.

  8. Hmmmm, I had something similar on my barn door the other morning, I thought it was a fancy moth of some kind. It looked exactly the same in terms of shape and size and orange wings, but instead of your brilliant blue circles my fellow was basic boring black and tan.

    cheers,

    HDR

  9. One of the dogs found my beauty and kept barking at the poor thing until I went over and shooed her away. Crazy dog, she bites at wasps but is scared of butterflies!

Comments are closed.

