Bad, bad, BAD pigs!

Tia may well be one of my favourite pigs, but she’s currently very close to booking herself a one-way ticket to the abattoir.

Well, that’s what I was muttering to myself last night, anyway.

Why?

Because the little madam (accompanied by Bailey but I know who the ring leader was) decided to break out of her pen while I was at work yesterday and get into the shipping container I use as a feed shed, and to store the straw and gardening equipment.

Between them, they ate their way through the three buckets of the fruit and veg I’d cut up that morning for their “pudding”, plus an additional six boxes of fruit and veg that I didn’t have the time to sort through.

Which explains the rather large (think elephantine) piles of pig poo that I spotted nearby!

But they didn’t just politely eat and then leave.

No…….

They trashed the place!

I spent an hour last night tidying up after them – a wonderful combination of squashed fruit and veg, the juices from the fruit mud and rain water.

And all that to clean up at eight o’clock on a miserable, wet and gloomy Monday evening, after a day at work, running on empty after a very bad night’s sleep.

When I arrived the pair were sound asleep in the empty pig ark near the shipping container and I confess I bit my tongue, waded through the carnage to get their pig nuts, walked them back to their pen (serenaded by six other pigs who didn’t understand why the order I feed them in had been changed), fed them, put the fence back up, got an energiser and battery (my bad, I should have switched the fence on that morning!), cut back the undergrowth by the fence (that was meant to be today’s job, hence the switched off fence), checked to make sure they had water and were ok, switched the fence on and then abandoned them. Did they get pudding? Hell, no!

The only good thing is that they failed to get into the pig nuts or the chicken feed.

Pigs! Sausages, the lot of them!!!!!!!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Oh dear. Oh deary dear!

    Although, I must confess, I’d like to have seen Bailey heaving himself in through the door of the container! Or do you think that Tia was the ‘leg man’ and shoved the food all out to him??

  2. Reminds me of that greyhound at Battersea caught on CCTV that unlatched all the other cages letting the dogs loose and they trooped off to trash the feed room.

    I suppose you’ll see the funny side one day 😉

  3. Don’t you just love them ……how do they know when the fence is off or the battery running low ?

    Last week I just could not keep the gilts in . In the end we swapped pens with the boars.

  4. Here’s the clip in case you’ve never seen it. Makes me chuckle everytime as I have greyhounds who are totally motivated by food http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXpjX4l0hRg

  5. Ouchie,

    I know the feeling! The goats have done that to me a couple of times. it’s just like leaving a bunch of unruly teenagers at home alone for the first time so they decide to invite a few mates round for a party….& the rest, as they say, is history….

    I think the worst one was when they got into the old milking parlour & completely trashed it – not to mention smashing up the CDs in my collection that they didn’t like (Bryn Terfel survived; Catherine Jenkins didn’t!) – AND biting clean through the cable to my bucket milking machine (thank goodness they weren’t electrocuted, goodness knows how). Oh, what a night – & what a nightmare…..goat curry was almost on the menu that day, I can tell you.

  6. My friend’s horses had a habit of unlocking their stall doors and raiding the grain cans–they used metal trash cans at the time. His solution? He now has an old chest freezer that died that he puts the grain in. The horses can’t open it because it locks.

  7. @Jennie – the footprints and half-eaten food on the ground by the door suggest that she went in and threw stuff out to him (though I’ll bet she kept the best for herself!)

    @Lyn – funny side? I need to rig up a web cam or something: maybe seeing it would bring relief to the clean up operation! I’ll check out the video later!

    @Sandra – when the energiser is on, the electricity hums, so it’s easy for them to tell when it’s off. Curly, my porker, gets out within 12 hours of the fence being off (so his is *always* on) but the others go for weeks and weeks without trying to get out. Tia normally gets out if they’ve got no grass (she gets bored), but I just moved them so the thought of her breaking out never even crossed my mind!

    @Jo – I spent three hours yesterday morning cleaning, scrubbing and checking for damage and was extremely relieved to discover that the only thing that got broken was one bucket, and that was at the top so was easy to fix with Duck tape. Yes, I know how lucky I am, especially after reading your comment! What did Catherine Jenkins do wrong?!

    @doggonedmysteries – I don’t know how they failed to get into the pig nuts as I found the lid on the floor! Needless to say, the lid of their feed bin and the chickens’ are now tied down with bungee cords!

  8. By the time they got to the pig nuts they were probably too full to care. LOL!

  9. Well done – writing such an amusing post about a pair of very naughty pigs.

  10. @doggonedmysteries – by the time I arrived, they’d obviously digested everything and had empty bellies as you should have seen them run after me when I shook their bowls to lead them back to their pen!!

    @Cottage Smallholder – thanks! It’s a good thing I slept on it before writing the post…!

  11. I bet it was a good thing you slept on it before writing…sniff, sniff…hmm, do I smell bacon?

Comments are closed.

