Home-made, fat-free chips!

If, like me, you’re a massive fan of the humble chip, then you should try our method of making them as they are delicious, cheap, easy to make, contain nothing other than what you add to them (which you don’t have to) and did I mention how tasty they are?!

Admittedly, some people have encountered problems in making them, hence this simple ‘how to’ blog post, with pictures!

The method is simple.

Slice ’em, grill ’em, eat ’em.

One medium or large potato will do for each person, depending on appetite and how much other stuff is being consumed.

First, wash your potato. Don’t peel it, just slice it:

The sliced potatoes waiting for the grill to heat up

The sliced potatoes waiting for the grill to heat up

How thick the slices are will affect how they cook. Thin ones goes crispy, too thin and they’ll burn… Thick ones are softer inside but too thick and they won’t cook… The ones in the photo (apologies for its quality, BTW) are as thick as I tend to do them, though it’s all a bit random and depends on where the knife falls.

You don’t need to add oil or anything – they might stick to the grill rack in a couple of places, but not badly and can be easily removed without destroying the chip.

To cook, preheat the grill to its maximum temperature and put the grill pan in the middle.

Check on them after about 10-12 minutes. If they are golden brown, it’s time to turn them:

At the half way point, after about 12 minutes under the grill

At the half way point, after about 12 minutes under the grill

Once you’ve turned them, you can add seasoning or herbs, etc. I rarely bother, but it’s up to you!

Oh – if the skin puffs out during cooking, worry not, it’s meant to do that!

Put them back under the grill and check them in another ten minutes. Once the tops have also turned golden brown, it’s time to tuck in!

Ready to serve!

Ready to serve!

I suppose, they’re really “grilled potato slices”, but “burgers and grilled potato slices” doesn’t have quite the same ring to it…!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Ohh l think l can manage them can not wait to get some potatoes in and give them a chance. 🙂

  2. Aha! I was cutting them too thin, that was my problem

  3. I’ve been experimenting with chips too and the best that I’ve come up with so far is polenta sliced into chips, you get the crunchy outside, fluffy inside, the look good and ate really low fat too!

  4. Am so stealing these, ta very much!

  5. Vetnurse and Lec, you’re welcome! I don’t have many recipes up my sleeve, but this hits all the right buttons for me: quick, easy, tasty 🙂

    disgruntled: ah, I see. Mind you, I like the idea of crisps… I shall slice them as thin as I can the next time we have an evening in and a DVD to watch!

    JK, oooh, I must try that. How long do you cook them for?

  6. I just kept checking them till they were crunchy brown outside, but I think about 20 mins 🙂

Comments are closed.

